National Advisory Board for Public Service

Drew Gilpin Faust, President of Harvard University, has made public service an institutional priority, and the National Advisory Board on Public Service will provide essential advice and recommendations on how to further public service at Harvard College during this critical juncture. The advisory board will be composed of approximately prominent leaders in public interest fields, faculty, and alumni with a deep commitment to the nonprofit and public interest sectors. A leader from each of the major public services offices and organizations on campus-- the Center for Public Interest Careers, FAS Standing Committee on Public Service, Institute of Politics, Office of Career Services, Phillips Brooks House Association and the Public Service Network-- will also attend these meetings to foster collaboration and common goal setting towards a cohesive vision.


  • Develop a deep understanding of the existing public service landscape at Harvard College.
  • Advise on strategies and strategic goals to engage undergraduates in public service and explore public interest careers through both co-curricular and curricular opportunities.
  • Establish a unified long-term vision for public service efforts and public interest career advising and identify needs to ensure the sustainability of this plan.
  • Support these vital efforts by providing relationships with collaborative partners and persons or organizations able to provide resources that will deepen and expand these efforts.

National Advisory Board 

· Cheryl Dorsey (Co-Chair): President, Echoing Green

· Mark Gearan (Co-chair): President, Hobart & William Smith College

· Charlotte Ackert: Trustee, WNET New York

· David Ackert: Managing Member, Crystal Lake Capital, LLC

· Jonathan Alter: Author and Columnist

· Joseph Barretto: Nonprofit Consultant, Barretto Consulting LLC

· David Belluck: General Partner, Riverside Partners

· Anurima Bhargava: Open Society Foundation Leadership in Government Fellow; former Chief of Educational Opportunities Section in the Civil Rights Division at the U.S. Department of Justice

· Eryn Bingle: Special Counsel for Economic Development, Congressman Jim Hines

· Michael Brown: CEO and Co-Founder, City Year, Inc.

· Paul Buttenwieser, Community Volunteer

· Chris Gabrieli: CEO of Empower Schools, Chair of the Massachusetts Board of Higher Education and Lecturer, Harvard Grad School of Education.

· Mike Gaw: Assistant Director, Division of Trading and Markets, US Securities and Exchange Commission

· Maribel Hernández Rivera: Executive Director for Executive Action, NYC Mayor's Office of Immigrant Affairs

· Jen Holleran: Chan Zuckerberg Initiative

· Alan Khazei: Co-founder of City Year, Founder of Be The Change

· Richard Kiely: Senior Fellow, Engaged Cornell, Cornell University

· Peter Levine: Associate Dean for Research and Lincoln Filene Professor, Tufts University

· Tamera Luzzatto: Managing Director of Government Relations, The Pew Charitable Trusts

· Andrew Mandel: Senior Vice President, Teach for America

· Darin McKeever: Chief Program & Strategy Officer, William Davidson Foundation

· Eric Mindich: Founder and Chief Executive Officer of Eton Park Capital Management

· Stacey Mindich: Broadway Producer at Stacey Mindich Productions

· Eric Mlyn: Assistant Vice Provost of Civic Engagement, Duke University

· Shirley Sagawa: Co-founder, Service Year Exchange

· Ian Simmons: President, Foundation for Civic Leadership · John Simon: Managing Director at Sigma Prime Ventures; Board Chair & Co-Founder of the GreenLight Fund

· Dorothy Stoneman: ECO & Founder: YouthBuild USA, Inc.

· Tammy Tai: Nonprofit Strategic Consultant

· Kendall Webb: Executive Director,